Yes, persons who wish to exchange medical
information without revealing their identity may
do so by indicating it on their application. In
order to receive medical information
through the registry, the adopted or
surrendered person, birth parent or
sibling, adoptive parent or legal
guardian must complete the medical
questionnaire and agree to exchange
this information with other eligible
registrants.

Yes. There is a $15 filing fee. However, the fee
will be waived if the registrant completes the
Medical Information Exchange Questionnaire at
the time of the initial application and agrees to
the release of the medical questionnaire to

at least one other party to the adoption.

The $15 fee also is waived for adoptive parents
who register with the IARMIE within 12 months
of the finalization of their child’s adoption.

Yes. Any registrant (including those who
registered with the Illinois Adoption Registry
prior to January 1, 2000) may update or amend

information on file free of charge. However, updates

and amendments must be accompanied by proof
of identification (a photocopy of the registrant’s
driver’s license or other state-or
government-issued 1D).

To protect the rights and well-being of children, birth
parents and adoptive families, the Department of
Children and Family Services (DCFS) ensures that
all Illinois agencies providing adoption services are
licensed. For more information about adoptions in
Illinois and for a list of licensed adoption agencies
in Illinois, visit
www.illinois.gov/dcfs/lovinghomes/adoption or
call the Adoption Support Line at 888-96-ADOPT
(888-962-3678).

I ARMTIE

registration forms are available a number of ways.
* Download the forms from the Department’s website:
<www.dph.illinois.gov>.
e E-mail a request for forms to <dph.vitals@illinois.gov>.
o Call the registry at 877-323-5299,
TTY (hearing impaired use only) 800-547-0466.

 Mail a request for forms to the lllinois Department of
Public Health, lllinois Adoption Registry and Medical
Information Exchange, Division of Vital Records,
925 E. Ridgely Ave., Springfield, IL 62702-2737.
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Yes. The Illinois Adoption Registry and Medical

Through changes to the adoption registry law,

the Illinois Adoption Registry and Medical Infor-
mation Exchange (IARMIE) allows mutually con-
senting adopted and surrendered persons and
members of their birth and adoptive families to
voluntarily exchange a wealth of information with-

out petitioning the courts. Individuals can remain
anonymous and still share valuable
personal and medical information.

¢ the identity and last known address of other
birth and adoptive family members who have

registered with the [ARMIE

* medical background information filed with
the registry

e pictures and written statements filed with
the registry

¢ the adoptee’s original birth certificate (providing
he or she was born in Illinois)

or older who were born, adopted or surrendered
in Illinois

¢ Non-surrendered brothers and sisters over age 21
of those who were adopted or surrendered and a
common parent is deceased

¢ Adoptive parents of eligible adopted persons
under age 21 or any age if the adopted person is
deceased

¢ Legal guardians of adopted or surrendered persons

e Surviving sister, brother or parent of a deceased
birth parent

e Surviving adult child or grandchild of a deceased
adopted person

e Surviving spouse of a deceased adopted person
with a minor child

Registrants must initially provide sufficient
information about their identities and the circum-
stances surrounding the adoption or surrender to
enable registry staff to locate the Illinois Department
of Public Health's file on the adopted person. All
registry applications must be accompanied by
proof of the registrant’s identity (photocopy of the
registrant’s driver’s license or other state-or
government-issued ID). Non-adopted birth siblings
also are required to provide proof of death for the
birth parent they have in common with the
adopted person.

Information Exchange application includes two
pages for submitting an optional written statement.
Written statements filed with the registry cannot
include identifying information regarding anyone
other than the registrant.

Photographs can be submitted by enclosing them
in an unsealed envelope no larger than 8.5" x 11."
Photographs filed with the registry may not identify
anyone other than the registrant who submits them.
Photographs and statements that do not meet these
requirements will be returned to the applicant.

Medical information may be filed with the registry
by registrants completing the Medical Information
Exchange Questionnaire. The questionnaire
includes a list of diseases and conditions that
medical professionals believe may be inherited or
genetically linked. Each applicant is asked to indicate
on the questionnaire the diseases and conditions
with which he/she or other biological relatives
have been diagnosed. Knowing about the existence
of certain inherited conditions and diseases can
give clues to medical conditions that may run in a
birth family.




