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What do I need to apply for
the OAPP?
Once you have visited your health care
provider, your doctor will submit a physician
certification to IDPH through a confidential
website. Then, you will be ready to register
for the Opioid Alternative Pilot Program.
You may visit a licensed medical cannabis
dispensary or a participating local health
department for help with the on-line
registration process.

You will need the following documents:

• Government-issued ID: current Illinois
driver’s license or state ID

• Proof of address which matches your
driver’s license or state ID (i.e., utility
bill, voter’s registration card, bank
statement) 

• 2” x 2” color passport photo 

• Application fee – $10 for each 90-day
period. Only credit, pre-paid credit, or
debit cards are accepted

• Select a dispensary
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Where Can I Learn More?
About Us
The IDPH Office of Health Promotion,
Medical Cannabis Registry Program
implements and oversees the Medical
Cannabis Pilot Program and the Opioid
Alternative Pilot Program which both
provide access to cannabis for medical use.
Program-related materials including
applications and physician education
resources is available at
http://dph.illinois.gov/topics-services/
prevention-wellness/medical-cannabis. 
Contact Us
Phone: 1-855-636-3688
Email: dph.medicalcannabis@illinois.gov 
Web: www.dph.illinois.gov

Illinois Opioid Alternative Pilot Program
535 W. Jefferson St.
Springfield, IL 62761



Illinois Opioid Alternative
Pilot Program

Data from the Illinois Department of Public
Health (IDPH) indicates opioid deaths in
Illinois increased 13 percent from 2016 to
2017. On August 28, 2018, Illinois enacted
changes to the Compassionate Use of
Medical Cannabis Pilot Program Act
(“Act”). Public Act 100-1114 created the
Opioid Alternative Pilot Program (OAPP).
Licensed physicians must certify an
individual has been prescribed or could
have been prescribed an opioid based on
generally accepted standards of care. The
program is limited to persons 21 years old
or older.  Registered patients are eligible to
purchase 2.5 ounces of medical cannabis
every 14 days. Physician certifications are
valid for 90 days but can be renewed to
allow patients to continue accessing
medical cannabis. A $10 fee is required for
each 90-day registration period.

Do I qualify for the Opioid
Alternative Pilot Program?
If you are an Illinois resident age 21 or
older and have been prescribed an opioid
or have a health condition or disease for
which you could be prescribed an opioid
and obtain a certification from your
physician, you may be eligible. 

People with a CDL-driver’s license or a
school bus driver permit cannot apply.

OAPP participants must be re-certified by
their physician every 90 days.  

Note: OAPP patients cannot have a
designated caregiver to assist them with
medical cannabis use. Current Medical
Cannabis Pilot Program participants are
not eligible to register for OAPP.

How much does medical
cannabis cost?
Health insurance, Medicaid, and Medicare
do not cover medical cannabis costs. All
registered OAPP patients are responsible
for the registration fee(s) and the cost of
purchasing medial cannabis.

How do I apply for the Opioid
Alternative Pilot Program?
Before you register for the OAPP, a doctor
licensed in Illinois must complete a
physician certification indicating that you
have a prescription for an opioid or could
be prescribed an opioid.

• You must be at least 21 years old.

• Schedule an appointment with your
primary care doctor or the doctor who
provides your health care to discuss
whether medical cannabis is a treatment
alternative to opioids. 

• Ask your doctor to complete an on-line
physician certification confirming your
diagnosis.

• Once the physician certification has
been entered on-line, you may register
for the program.

• Register on-line; a $10 registration fee is
required.

• Physician certifications are valid for 90-
days but can be renewed.

“After years of using opioids and
experiencing side effects, I can’t wait

to reduce my dependence on
prescription drugs.”      -- Robert


