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Instructions 
 

Applicants should discuss the use of medical cannabis with their health care professional prior to 

beginning an application. All applicants, except for Veterans receiving care at a VA facility, must have 

their health care professional complete a written certification for the use of medical cannabis. 

To qualify for a patient registry identification card, a qualifying patient must:  

• Be a resident of the State of Illinois at the time of application and remain a resident during participation 

in the program; 

• Have a qualifying debilitating medical condition; 

• Have a signed health care professional certification; 

• Be at least 18 years of age; 

• Not hold a school bus permit or Commercial Driver’s License (YOUR APPLICATION WILL BE DENIED 

IF NOT REMOVED PRIOR TO SUBMISSION); and 

• Not be an active duty law enforcement officer, correctional officer, correctional probation officer, or firefighter. 

If you check "yes" your application will be denied. 

 

Health Care Professional Written Certification 

Ask your health care professional to complete the Health Care Professional Written Certification Form and re-

turn it to you to include it with your application. You must see your health care professional no more than 90 

days before you submit your application.  

 

Health Care Professional Written Certification for Veterans receiving care at a U.S. Department of 

Veterans Affairs (VA) Facility  

Veterans receiving health care at a VA facility do not need to provide a health care professional written 

certification, but must instead provide medical records from the VA facility for the last 12 months.  

• Log into My HealtheVet and request a premium account so you can view information required. Please 

submit VA appointments, VA Medication History, VA Admissions and Discharges, Progress Notes, and 

Consult Notes for the past 12 months. 

• To obtain VA medical records electronically, go online to https://www.myhealth.va.gov/index.html  

• Once you receive your official medical records, you must submit the medical records with your 

application. 

 

 

Mail the application and the required documents to: 

Illinois Department of Public Health 

Division of Medical Cannabis 

535 W. Jefferson Street 

Springfield, Illinois 62761-0001

QP

https://www.myhealth.va.gov/index.html
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***Do not use this form for Terminal Illness*** 
 
QUALIFYING PATIENT INFORMATION 

 

HEALTH CARE PROFESSIONAL INFORMATION 

 

MEDICAL CANNABIS DISPENSARY SELECTION (Answer Required)

Social Security Number (###-##-####) Driver’s License/State ID Card 
Number

Driver’s License/State ID Card 
State

No Driver’s License 

❑

First Name Middle Name Last Name

Home Address Apartment or Suite Number

City County State 

IL

ZIP Code

Telephone Number (###-###-####) E-mail Address

Date of Birth (mm/dd/yyyy) Gender 

❑ Male ❑ Female

Are you an active duty law enforcement officer, correctional officer, 
correctional probation officer or firefighter? (If yes, this will result in 
a denial.)

Do you have a school bus permit or a Commercial Driver’s 
License? (If yes, this will result in a denial if not removed.) 

❑ Yes ❑ No

First Name Middle Name Last Name

Office Address

Suite Number City State 

IL

ZIP Code

Name and Address of Dispensary

Dispensary District

You must select a dispensary to enter and purchase medical cannabis. The list of dispensaries currently licensed by the state of Illinois 
may be viewed at http://www.idfpr.com/Forms/MC/ListofLicensedDispensaries.pdf.

This application was prepared by: 

_____________________________________________________________ ____________________________ 
PRINT/TYPE PREPARER’S NAME                                                                                              DATE (mm/dd/yyyy) 

_____________________________________________________________ ____________________________ 
FIRM OR ORGANIZATION NAME                                                                                               PHONE NUMBER

❑ Yes ❑ No

http://www.idfpr.com/Forms/MC/ListofLicensedDispensaries.pdf
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CERTIFICATIONS 

I certify the information provided in this application is true and accurate to the best of my knowledge. 

Submission of false, misleading or inaccurate information in connection with this application is grounds for revocation of my 
Illinois Medical Cannabis Qualifying Patient Registry Identification Card and other administrative, civil or criminal penalties. 
 
I additionally certify that I have been given actual Notice and understand that, notwithstanding the Compassionate Use of Medical Cannabis 
Patient Program Act (Act): 

(i) cannabis is a prohibited Schedule I controlled substance under federal law; 

(ii) participation in the program is permitted only to the extent provided by the strict requirements of the Act;    

(iii) any activity not sanctioned by the Act may be a violation of state or federal law and could result in arrest, conviction, or 
incarceration; 

(iv) distributing cannabis under the Act, unless done through a federally-approved research program, is a violation of federal law;  

(v) distributing cannabis in any capacity, except through a federally-approved research program, may be a violation of state or 
federal law and could result in arrest, conviction or incarceration; 

(vi) use of medical cannabis, or possessing a medical cannabis patient or caregiver registry card, may affect an individual’s 
ability to receive or retain federal or state licensure in other areas; 

(vii) use of medical cannabis or possessing a medical cannabis patient or caregiver registry card, in tandem with other conduct, 
may be a violation of state or federal law and could result in arrest, conviction or incarceration; 

(viii) participation in the Medical Cannabis Patient Program does not authorize any person to violate federal law or state law; 

(ix) the Act does not provide any immunity from or affirmative defense to arrest or prosecution under federal law or state law, other 
than as set out in 410 ILCS 130/25; and 

(x) applicants shall indemnify, hold harmless, and defend the state of Illinois for any and all civil or criminal penalties resulting 

from participation in the program.  
 
 
 

_____________________________________________________________ ____________________________ 
SIGNATURE OF QUALIFYING PATIENT DATE (mm/dd/yyyy) 

APPLICATION FEES 

Provide a check or money order payable to Illinois Department of Public Health. 

Choose One: 
 
*The reduced fee is for qualifying 
patients enrolled in the Federal Social 
Security Disability Income (SSDI), 
Supplemental Security Income (SSI) 
disability programs, or Veterans.  

 
Patients enrolled in SSDI or SSI – Submit a “Benefit Verification Letter” from the Social Security Administration that shows your 
name and address and the type of benefits that are received. This letter must be dated within the last year. You can get this letter 
by using your My Social Security account online at https://www.ssa.gov/myaccount/ or calling the Social Security Administration 
at 1-800-772-1213. Annual cost of living increase letters will not be accepted as proof because they do not show the type of 
benefits received.  
 
Veterans – Submit a copy of your DD-214 showing dates of service and character of service (type of discharge).  
 

APPLICATION FEES ARE NOT REFUNDABLE 

Application Fee Reduced Application Fee*

❑ $100 – One-Year Registry Card ❑ $50 – One-Year Registry Card

❑ $200 – Two-Year Registry Card ❑ $100 – Two-Year Registry Card

❑ $250 – Three-Year Registry Card ❑ $125 – Three-Year Registry Card
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REQUIRED DOCUMENTS

Place the following items in an envelope or upload with an electronic application submission:

❑ Non-refundable application fee (Check or Money Order to Illinois Department of Public Health)

❑ Photograph 

• Taken in the last 30 days 

• Taken against a plain, white or off-white background or backdrop 

• In natural color (Do not use a filter) 

• Full-face view directly facing the camera with a neutral facial expression and both eyes open 

• At least 2 inches by 2 inches in size 

It is recommended you use a passport photo vendor to ensure the photograph meets these requirements.  

Contact the Division of Medical Cannabis if a photograph is in violation of or contradictory to the qualifying patient’s religious 
convictions. 

❑ Proof of age and identity 

Submit a clear, color copy of an Illinois Driver’s License, Illinois State ID, or the photograph page of a US passport.

❑ Proof of residency 

If your Driver’s License, Temporary Visitor Driver's License or State ID address matches your application submit one additional 
proof of residency. If you submit a US Passport as your proof of identity or your Driver’s License or State ID address does not 
match the address on your application, submit two of the following:  

• Pay stub or electronic deposit receipt, issued less than 60 days prior to the application date, that shows evidence of 
withholding for State income tax 

• Valid voter registration card with an address in Illinois 

• Bank statement (dated less than 90 days prior to application) or credit card statement (dated less than 60 days prior to 
application); 

• Deed/title, mortgage or rental/lease agreement; property tax bill; 

• Insurance policy (current coverage for automobile, homeowner's, health or medical, or renter's); 

• Medical claim or statement of benefits (from a hospital or health clinic, private insurance company or public (government) 
agency, dated less than 12 months prior to application) 

• Tuition invoice/official mail from college or university, dated less than the 12 months prior to application 

• Utility bill, including, but not limited to, those for electric, water, refuse, telephone land-line, cellular phone, cable or gas, 
issued less than 60 days prior to application 

• W-2 from the most recent tax year 

Proof of residency must include name and address and match the address on the application

❑ Benefit Verification Letter from the Social Security Administration or DD-214 (if applicable)

❑ Health Care Professional Written Certification and Reviewing Health Care Professional Written Certification

Mail the application and required documents to: 

Illinois Department of Public Health 
Division of Medical Cannabis  
535 West Jefferson Street  
Springfield, Illinois 62761-0001

Questions? Contact the Division of Medical Cannabis at 855-636-3688 or DPH.MedicalCannabis@Illinois.gov.

DO YOU NEED A CAREGIVER? If you need 

someone to go to a dispensary for you or with 

you, that person must have a registry card. 
Complete the Designated Caregiver Application and submit 

the required documents with your patient application.

mailto:DPH.MedicalCannabis@Illinois.gov

